My Timetable, Weekends Away & Chanting in French

It’s been a while since I made a post, the idea of doing one every week has truly gone out of the window… and for that I apologize (mainly to my dad – sorry dad).

Life in Grenoble has been pretty decent. It’s beginning to get a lot colder which is very exciting – anything that resembles something relatively Christmassy gets me very excited! I am always ready for Christmas, but this year it also means coming home to see my family and boyfriend and so it is even more special! It is less than 5 weeks until I go home now which is absolutely insane – where has the time gone?

I have also heard from Parma now. I need to start doing bits of paperwork to arrange that properly. I have to say that I am not that excited to go to Parma right now – the idea of going through all the administration that I did for Grenoble again -and most probably more- is hurting my soul…

Uni Life

Everything feels very normal here, I’ve got into my routine so I am well and truly settled. My classes are:

Monday – Lexicology; Intro to Linguistics; Italian (A2.2);

Tuesday – French Grammar (Erasmus only); Tennis (yeahh I know); English Theatre;

Thursday – Translation FR-EN/EN-FR (Erasmus only);  Social Problems in Modern France (Erasmus only); My final one’s name won’t mean anything to anyone but we basically learn how to argue in French by reading articles (Erasmus only)

All lessons are two hours long; those hours do not include a lecture and a seminar – just 2 hour lectures…

All my modules are worth 3 credits; I need to pass at least 20 credits this term and then 20 in Parma. So, my 27 credits allow me to fail a few modules if they are really too hard; I feel like I understand what is going on in class but I have no idea what the exams will be like.

Exam time is the first week of January starting Monday the 2nd but I chose modules where the examinations are in the final week in December – this did mean a lot of extra agg in the first few weeks when sorting out my modules, but I have no regrets whatsoever. Therefore, when I leave here in December, I leave for good – eeek!

My Weekends

A few weekends ago, me and my friends rented a chalet on Airbnb from Friday to Sunday. It was situated just north of Grenoble, near the Parc naturel régional de Chartreuse – a perfect hiking place! When I say hiking it was more just fourteen of us wandering around the woods gazing at the stunning views and stopping for lunch.. not exactly intensive hiking but it was still a great trip! Our chalet was cosy and clean with amazing views – what more could you ask for? I believe the weekend cost us around 50 euros each including the food we bought and prepared at the chalet. I would definitely recommend doing something like this to anyone who has the opportunity!

15102087_10154665260752716_1622680272_o
Our chalet

15064874_10154665261097716_869759444_o15064248_10154665261137716_3129669_o

Over two recent weekends I’ve had two separate visits from family which have been lovely. We basically crammed in as many French(ish) activities and outings as possible. This includes: a visit to a cat café; two generic -but very necessary – walks up the Bastille (an old fort up a mountain that looks over the whole of Grenoble – a view that can be seen in the form of almost every Grenoble Erasmus student’s Facebook cover photo); a trip to Lyon; a trip to Annecy and many glasses of wine…

After being here for a few weeks and once the novelty had worn off, I got quite lazy and didn’t put much effort into going to new places. So, when my brother was here, I had to try extra hard to find places for us to go to – it was fun becoming a tourist again!

15045826_10154664937967716_318970425_n
True story..
14947863_10154653942912716_8670596790944618575_n
Trip to Annecy (again) with Dad

This Saturday a few of us went to the stadium in Grenoble to watch Grenoble (FCG) vs. Bordeaux-Bègles. It was the first rugby game I’ve ever been to and I really enjoyed it. For 5 euros you can’t go wrong anyway, but it was great! I especially loved the chanting:

“ICI, ICI, C’EST GRENOBLE”

“ALLEZ LES MAMMOUTHS” (just to be clear: mammoths are the mascots for Grenoble)

I’d love to give a full description about how they played and all, but I know nothing about rugby. I will just say that in my opinion we played well but we lost 22-24. That didn’t matter to me though, I was chanting in French!

That’s all folks!

À bientôt, j’espère! x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Samuel Woods says:

    Claire, looks marvellous. Have you popped down to Aix-en-Provence yet? It’s a must see, especially in December, tu vas ADORER 🙂

    Like

    1. Ooh no I haven’t yet! Will have to make sure I do though!:)

      Like

  2. Stephanie perella says:

    Love this Claire! When you make it to Italy I will definitely come and visit you! Can’t wait to see you xx

    Like

    1. Aww thanks Steph! Yes please do that’ll be great!!!xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

